With only 771500 candidates qualifying for the NEET-UG 2020 Examination against the 1597435 registered candidates, NEET once again established itself as one of the most competitive and toughest entrance examinations in the world.

Effective from 2019, NEET-UG (National Entrance cum Eligibility Test-Undergraduate), conducted and overseen by NTA (National Testing Agency), is the sole route for the medical aspirants in India to grab a seat in the country's finest government and private run medical institutes. There were several colleges like AIIMS and JIPMER that used to conduct medical entrance examinations of their own. However, they now come under the common and uniform umbrella of NEET (UG). NEET (UG) is now the single route for all medical aspirants to pursue the flagship courses of MBBS and BDS across the country after their Std-12 graduation.

The rigor of the graduated medical students intensifies if they wish to pursue a postgraduate degree in MD (Doctor of Medicine), MS (Master of Surgery), or PG Diploma (Postgraduate Diploma). NEET-PG (National Eligibility cum Entrance Test-Postgraduate) and INI-CET (Institute of National Importance Combined Entrance Test) are the examinations that the students must qualify to pursue Postgraduate courses in various reputed medical colleges of the country.

Below is the list of all the medical entrance examinations in India, along with all the necessary details to guide a medical aspirant if he/she wishes to pursue a career in medicine. These examinations are the gateway to ensure admission in the various undergraduate, postgraduate, diploma, and super-specialty courses.

Conducted by NTA, NEET-UG (National Entrance cum Eligibility Test-Undergraduate) is the sole national-level medical entrance examination whose score is accepted by all the government and privately run medical colleges all over the country. This examination is the crucial step to secure admission for MBBS, BDS, AYUSH, veterinary, and other undergraduate-level courses in any medical college in the country. All the state-level medical entrance examinations and institute-level entrance examinations (previously conducted by AIIMS, JIPMER, etc.) have been scraped and merged with NEET-UG. This is done to ensure common and uniform testing of all the medical aspirants.

Kareer Guru Academy offering NEET-UG Coaching in Chandigarh for the students of Medical Entrance. The syllabus of the NEET-UG entrance examination is one of the most rigorous and challenging ones out there. But with the correct grasp of the subjects' concepts, dedication, practice, and smart preparation, cracking the NEET-UG is certainly achievable.

NEET-UG 2021 Eligibility Criteria for Undergraduate (UG) courses (MBBS/BDS/BAMS/BSMS/BUMS/BHMS etc.):
  • 2021 Eligibility Criteria for Age Limit: As of December 31, 2021, the candidates must be of at least 17 years of age to be eligible for the exam. The decision on the upper age is still pending. Therefore, provisionally all the candidates satisfying the minimum age criteria are eligible
  • NEET-UG 2021 Eligibility Criteria for Academic Qualifications:
    1. Qualifying examination: Candidates must have qualified Higher Secondary School/Intermediate or equivalent examination from 10+2 education system from a recognized board with the core subjects of English, Physics, Chemistry, and Biology/Biotechnology.
    2. Minimum marks required: An aggregate percentage in Std-12, taking only the PCB marks into consideration, must be calculated. Below are the minimum marks required across various categories:

      o UR - 50%
      o OBC/SC/ST - 40%
      o PWD - 45%

    3. Appearing candidates: Candidates appearing for their Std-12 board examinations are eligible to apply for the NEET-UG examination. However, such candidates need to produce proof of passing Class 12th or equivalent exam at the time of admission. Candidates unable to produce the evidence shall forfeit their right of admission through the NEET-UG examination.
  • NEET-UG 2021 Eligibility Criteria for the NRI/Foreign Nationals: NRIs, OCI, PIO, and foreign students are eligible to appear for NEET-UG 2021 examination, provided they meet the eligibility criteria.
  • NEET-UG 2021 Eligibility Criteria for a number of attempts: The restrictions on the maximum number of attempts per candidate have been removed after the 2018 amendments in the NEET-UG eligibility criteria. As long a candidate meets the eligibility criteria, he/she can appear for the NEET-UG examination as many times as they want.
  • NEET-UG 2021 Eligibility Criteria for State Quota: 85% state quota has been allocated to all the medical colleges in the states and union territories counseling, subject to the fulfillment of the eligibility criteria laid down by the respective state and UT authorities. The rest 15% of the MBBS, BDS, and other undergraduate courses seats are allocated to for the national level pan India counseling.
  • NEET-UG 2021 Eligibility Criteria for All India Quota: The aspirants who qualify for the NEET-UG 2021 examination will be eligible to apply for seats under the 15% All India Quota and for all the seats in Central Universities, deemed universities, ESIC, AFMC, etc. MCI will be conducting the counseling for the same.
NEET-UG 2021 Highlights:
Exam Name NEET-UG
Exam Name Once a year
Conducting Body NTA
Exam Mode Pen & Paper (Offline)
Exam Duration 3 hours
Subjects Physics, Chemistry, Biology
Scope Admission into MBBS, BDS, AYUSH, and other undergraduate courses in all the government and private medical institutions.
Official Website
NEET-UG 2021 Entrance Examination Important Dates:
Events Dates (Tentative)
Issue of Notification March 12, 2021
Online registration begins 2nd week of May 2021
Last date of application 4th week of June 2021
Issue of Admit Card 1st week of August 2021
NEET-UG 2021 Entrance Exam September 12, 2021
Publication of Official Answer Key 3rd week of August 2021
Declaration of result 01 Nov 2021
Counseling starts TBD